Far From True by Linwood Barclay

I do enjoy books by the Canadian author Linwood Barclay. I like his subtle humour, the developement of his characters and the little town of Promise Falls that he has created. This novel comprises the second in his Promise Falls Trilogy.

The Promise Falls Trilogy is populated with characters from his previous books. When I started to think about this and pay attention to it, I became much more interested in who these characters were because I remembered their pasts that kept being referenced.

Far From True opens up with the a drive-in theater screen collapsing and killing four people. Cal is hired by the daughter of one of the victims to look into a break-in at her late father’s home. As he investigates Cal learns that this couple has a secret room for their sexual games and it appears that DVD discs are now missing. What is on the DVD and why they were taken is the next thing Cal needs to find out.Far From True

Cal’s former co-worker, Detective Barry Duckworth, is looking into why this incident has happened but also investigating the case from the previous book, Broken Promises. He thinks that that case may be connected to another one three years ago – but is on his own in finding the truth.

We also have David Hardwood, who was in Broken Promises returning in this novel as another major character. He is now working as a campaign manager for Randall Finley, has his parents living with him and trying to win over Sam(antha) Worthington. Cal is also trying to help Sam who is being threatened by her ex-boyfriend’s parents and want to kidnap her son.

Far From True had me fully engaged and  I am looking forward to reading the third book in the series. Linwood Barclay does not disappoint.

The Author

Linwood Barclay is the #1 internationally bestselling author of seventeen novels for Linwood Barclayadults, including No Time for Goodbye, Trust Your Eyes and, most recently, A Noise Downstairs. He has also written two novels for children and screenplays.
Three of those seventeen novels comprise the epic Promise Falls Trilogy: Broken Promise, Far From True, and The Twenty-Three. 

Val Penny


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: