I Don’t Mean to be Rude But … by Simon Cowell

I find Simon Cowell a very interesting man.  He was born in the Lambeth district of London, England on 7 October 1959.  He comes from a large family of six brothers and one sister but is best known as a  is a television music and talent competition judge, A&R executive, television producer, entrepreneur, and television personality.

I enjoyed this autobiography. It is completely honest about how he feels, although he seems to be a little harsh sometimes, but at least he is consistent. It appears that he has been that way since he was a child, so it is not like he is faking that.

You may wonder why I ended up reading this autobiography as it is not my usual fare.   I was looking through the village library and decided to choose a non-fiction book for a change.  I ended up finding this one.  I found it interesting and enjoyable. You either like Simon Cowell or you do not I quite like him and find him interesting.  This book justified that.  The main thing I enjoyed about this book was the fact that it is brutally honest.  Honest about everything up to that point in his life.   Also, it was interesting learning about his past life.  He worked his way from the mail room, to where he is now, a multi-millionaire running his own companies and there is no doubt he was persistent. I respect him for that, and this book made me make more sense of him, and his passion for the music and entertainment industries.  Also, the some of the funny remarks made me laugh.

Image

The book covers his life from his days in the mailroom at EMI Records to the creation of American Idol, Simon has always had a knack for judging talent.  He also likes to be center stage. In this book, he tells the stories of his first insult he made, the first time he gave a music criticism , and the first image makeover he made. The book also covers the birth of American Idol and all the dreadful auditions, bad hair days, judges’ squabbles, juicy rumours, surprise triumphs, and #1 singles that followed. 

Image
I really did enjoy this book, but I am not sure I would take time out to read a sequel, if Simon Cowell wrote one!  Amongst the other biographies and autobiographies reviewed here are: Sir Alan Sugar https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/sir-alan-sugar…charlie-burden/,   As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/as-far-as-my-f…-james-m-bauer/, Wasted https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/wasted-by-mark-johnson/, Humble Pie https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/humble-pie-by-gordon-ramsay/, White Slave https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/white-slave-by…o-pierre-white/Any One Can Do It https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/anyone-can-do-…ncan-bannatyne/, Serpico  https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/serpico-by-peter-maas/, My Shit Life So Far https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/my-shit-life-s…-frankie-boyle/, Black Like Me https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/black-like-me-…howard-griffin/, https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/the-islamist-by-ed-hussain/, Tuesdays With Morrie https://bookreviewstoday.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/tuesdays-with-…by-mitch-albom/,

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: